The Department of Soil Science, established in 1919, is a major centre of superior teaching and research both within Canada and internationally. The department places a strong emphasis on teaching, research, extension and service programs that address soil science and environmental issues at the provincial, national and international levels. The faculty, which includes adjunct professors from other departments, schools, and research and government institutions (e.g., Agriculture & Agri-Food Canada, Environment Canada and Natural Resources Canada), has particular strengths in applied pedology, agronomy & agroforestry, environmental soil chemistry & ecotoxicology, soil reclamation & remediation, and climate change adaptation & mitigation.

The department provides core expertise in soil and environmental sciences and offers programs leading to both M.Sc. and Ph.D. degrees. Joint graduate research programs can be arranged with other colleges within the university, with other Canadian universities, and with government agencies (both in Saskatchewan and across the country).

For more information on this field of study, see the Department of Soil Science website.